How Do You Plan a Trip Around South America?


This time I am the one asking for advice!  Really, how do you plan it?

I have never been a big planner for future events.  I know people who know where they are going on holiday for the next three years.  They have it all booked and seem to be very happy about that.  There are some people that seem to be content to have their whole future mapped out and organised for them.  I don’t even know what I am going to have for dinner tomorrow!

I have never been one to plan holidays too far in advance.  I usually leave things to the last minute or try and get something organised about a month in advance.  You never know what might happen.  What if you booked something and the prices came down or there was a better offer for somewhere else?  I suppose there is peace of mind when you know what you are going to do ahead of time.  My logical mind gets that.  My free spirit fights it.  I kind of like to go with the flow and see what happens.

When the kids were still in school, I was restricted to booking holidays at certain times of the year.  I had no choice. Although I had to schedule holidays in advance back then, my luxury was not to get tied up in scheduling outings once we arrived.  We kind of went with the flow.  Now that the kids are all grown up, I can take a trip pretty much whenever I like.  I can plan or go away on the spur of the moment, within reason.  Obviously, I need to consider work constraints.

On a trip to Spain many years ago, I never knew where we were going to spend the night during a 10 day visit.  I didn’t have access to the internet, just a mobile phone and a guide book.  Everything worked out ok.  We only stayed in one dodgy room, but it was only for one night.  It could have been worse.

I am trying to keep an open mind, and a peaceful one, believing that everything is going to be ok on our trip to South America.  I am aware that we may need to book a few things in advance.  I know that we will arrive in Buenos Aires on a certain day and that we will also leave from there on a certain day to return home.  I know that I would like to spend our last week of our trip in Buenos Aires.  So far, we don’t know where we are going to stay, anywhere!

We do know that we would like to visit certain places, but we do not know when we are going to get there!  I am trying to keep the trip loose, with places to aim for, but not with a set date or time schedule in mind.

My attitude is creating some interesting conversations between Bob and myself.  It is very different booking a trip to Paris with a list of things you might want to see and do than booking a five month trip to see how many countries you can visit with stuff you might want to see and do.  For starters, you are most likely to stay in the same hotel for the duration of your stay in Paris.  Not so in South America.  You are not going to do a day trip to Patagonia and then pop back to your hotel in Buenos Aires!

I am not worried about how much I get to see and do or how many countries I get to visit.  I am more interested in the journey and exploring new places and meeting people.  If time was not an issue, then I am sure that I would see and do everything I wanted to, and more.  There will be some places that we may not be able to visit for any number of reasons and we will have to make alternative arrangements.  I am trying to avoid booking, and paying for, too many things in advance, just in case.

It looks like Bob and I are really going to have to sit down and start a list of places we want to visit with possible venues to stay in.  I’ve already made a few notes on places to see and started a route.  Any ideas on how to carry on without getting too stressed out will be greatly appreciated.

,

Leave a Reply

