Times Like These I Wish I Had a Dog!


Bob has left me.  For six weeks!  He only just moved in!  Ha ha!

Bob has gone to Sharm el Sheikh to finish off the PADI Dive Master course he started in March.  That wasn’t our best vacation.  I had sinus problems the first week and lost a week of diving.  Then Bob had bad sinus problems and lost two weeks of diving!  He had to jack the DM course in and reschedule.  There is nothing worse than being near some of the world’s best coral reefs and not being able to dive them.  That was a real bummer.

The reason that Bob will be away for so long is that he will continue onwards with the PADI Instructor’s Course that takes place the last week of this month.  The original plan was to do the DM in March and then do the IDC  the end of May.  As it happens, plans sometimes change.  Should all go according to the new plan, Bob will be able to teach PADI courses.  This will be something that he will be able to take with him anywhere.  Another string to his bow.

Six weeks will be the longest we have ever been apart since we have been together.  The most has been a month.  Skype has been great for our long-distance relationship.  Being able to see the other person while talking to them really is the next best thing to being there.  Bob was the last person I spoke to most evenings before I went to bed.  There is no place to hide when you can see the other person you are talking to.  It really cemented our relationship while we were apart.

Although the hotel where Bob is staying has internet access, it isn’t always good.  There is also the time difference.  He is an hour ahead.  That might not seem like much, but when you have to get up early, are out all day, and have homework in the evening, it can make you weary and you go to bed early.  Then there is the fact that I am working at the moment.  I am not the type of lady to be sitting at the computer waiting for my man to Skype me.  So we have devised a system.  He sends me a message on Facebook when he has internet access, which I then get on my new phone (I finally upgraded!), and then I pop up to the computer.  Bob left on Thursday morning and I saw him for the first time yesterday (Sunday) for a few minutes before we had to jack it in.  It was lovely to see him, but frustrating at the same time.  That is technology for you, the good and the bad.

I don’t have a problem being on my own.  However, I have gotten used to being with Bob on the weekends and now that we just started living together I am loving waking up next to him every morning.  The weekdays are bearable because I have to go to work, but the weekend can be a bit dull and lonely without your honey by your side, especially now that the weather has broken.  I still don’t know that many people here that I can call to hook up with.   It is times like these that I wish I had a dog.  I’ve had a dog before, so I know what I am saying.

There is just so much walking, chores, blogging and painting any one person can do.   Because of our plans to travel, having a pet is not an option at this time.   Even so having a dog  would be great right now.  We have had wonderful weather this weekend, perfect for a BBQ on the beach.  I walked along the seafront instead.  There were loads of people out and about.  Many of them had dogs!

We have a long stretch of seafront to walk on and at 10am this morning it was pretty busy.

Map of Seafront

Map of Seafront

And this is some of what I saw this weekend.  I walked up and down various parts of the seafront on Saturday and Sunday and the whole length of it today.

060513Can you guess where I was?

Leave a Reply

